In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.


Scientific Coordinator: Prof David Wood, Imperial College London (UK)

Steering Committee Chair: Prof Frans Van de Werf, University of Leuven (BE)

Project Coordinator: Ms Sophie O’Kelly, Head of European Affairs, European Society of Cardiology


The CardioScape team is also formed by three groups: the Steering Committee, the Scientific Committee and the Stakeholders Group.

The Steering Committee is the highest level of management in the project organization. It is the formal decision-making body of the project and will have overall responsibility for the administrative and technical management for the project. It is comprised of 10 people:

  • Prof. Guy de Backer
  • Prof. Andrew Coats
  • Mr. James Craven
  • Prof. Gerd Hasenfuss
  • Mrs. Sophie O'Kelly
  • Prof. Karin Sipido
  • Prof. Anders Svensson
  • Prof. Frans Van de Werf
  • Prof. Lars Wallentin
  • Prof. David Wood


The Scientific Committee is comprised of 10 people, including experts of different horizons to allow a balanced representation of different constituent bodies and specialties of cardiology:

  • Prof. Dirk De Bacquer
  • Prof. Perry Elliot
  • Prof. Oscar Franco
  • Mrs. Sarah Hills
  • Prof. Tiny Jaarsma
  • Prof. Keld Kjeldsen
  • Prof. Rosalinda Madonna
  • Prof. Aldo Maggioni
  • Prof. Axel Pries
  • Prof. Francesca Pugliese
  • Prof. Frans Van de Werf
  • Prof. David Wood


The Stakeholders Group is a broad based grouping tasked of reflecting on the report on the CVD research landscape in Europe produced by the Scientific Committee.

  • Prof. David A Wood, CardioScape Scientific Coordinator
  • Prof. Frans Van de Werf, CardioScape Steering Committee Chair
  • Dr. Anders Himmelmann, AstraZeneca
  • Dr. Angelo de Rosa, Medtronic
  • Dr. Okan Ekinci, Siemens   
  • Dr. Rebecca Pruss, Trophos
  • Dr. Imo Hoefer, Cavadis   
  • Dr. Heico Breek, ACS Biomarker
  • Prof. Jeremy Pearson, British Heart Foundation
  • Dr. Marina Senten, Hartstichting (Dutch Heart Foundation)
  • Dr. Tobias Grimm, Deutsche Forshungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
  • Dr. Jan Nilsson, Swedish Heart & Lung Foundation
  • Dr. Hans Willmes, Research Foundation - Flanders (FWO)   
  • Dr. Luzma García Piqueres, Fundación Centro Nacional de Investigaciones Cardiovasculares Carlos III (CNIC)
  • Prof. Adam Torbicki, National Science Center Poland   
  • Prof. Angeles Alonso, Spanish Society of Cardiology and ESC European Affairs Committee


In addition to these three groups, the project saw the important contribution of Ana Tornada, Caroline Coats and Francesco Orso, three young Research Fellows in basic, clinical and population sciences. They classified all the research projects included in the CardioScape database, making a full use of a unique taxonomy created under the guidance of the Scientific Committee.